Key Standards for Sustainability

ISO Standards for Sustainability

BS 8583:2015

Biodiversity. Guidance for businesses on managing the risks and opportunities.

BS 3882:2015

Specification for topsoil.

BS ISO 20400:2017

Principles and framework for procuring sustainability.

BS 8900-2:2013

Managing sustainable development of organisations. Framework for assessment against BS 8900-1 specification.

BS ISO 20121:2012  

Specification for a sustainable event management system with guidance for use.

BS EN 13430:2004

Requirements for packaging recoverable by material recycling.

BS 8001:2017

A new standard for the circular economy.

BS 8485:2015

Code of practice for the design of protective measures for methane and carbon dioxide group gases for new buildings.


ISO 26000 and Organisational Social Responsibility

ISO 26000 is a  standard providing guidance on integrating social responsibilities that are relevant and significant to their mission and vision, operations and processes, customers, employees, communities and other stakeholders and the natural world’s impact.

The seven key underlying principles of social responsibility:

  • Accountability
  • Transparency
  • Ethical behaviuor
  • Respect for stakeholder interests
  • Respect for the rule of law
  • Respect for international norms of behaviour
  • Respect for human rights

The seven core subjects and issues pertaining to social responsibility:

  • Organizational governance
  • Human rights
  • Labour practices
  • The environment
  • Fair operating practices
  • Consumer issues
  • Community involvement and development